This Cup was tried out for the first time in 1992/1993, by the organisers of the Biel (Switzerland) 100-km Race, the Schwäbisch Alb (Germany) Marathon and the GutsMuths Rennsteig Race (Germany), then actually offered as the European Ultramarathon Cup for the 1st series (1993/1994) on the basis of the three races named. The start of the up season has always been the Biel Race in June, with the final calculations and award in May of the following year at the GutsMuths Rennsteig Race.
The 9th Series (2001/2002 season) saw the addition of the Mnisek (Czech Republic) und Celje (Slovenia) ultramarathons. Because there were now five races involved, the 10th series was organised as a single calendar year in 2002.
The Wachau marathon was a further event included in the years 2005-2007.
From 2010, the sixth partner in the ECU has been the Wörthersee Trail. Comes from 2012 with the Trail du Petit-balloon a 7th Running in the standings.

completed classification runs (PDF) (since 2010)

a selection of participants and their statistics (PDF) (since 2012)

a selection of participants and their statistics (PDF) (1992/93 - 2011)